EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

2023-2024 Academic Year

COMMITTEE: UNIT CODE SCREENING

Membership (include <u>ex-officio</u> members). Ken Ferguson (Chair), Annette Greer (Vice-Chair), Jonathan Dembo (Secretary), Amy Carr-Richardson, Scott Dellana, Gina Firnhaber, Fan-chin Kung, Julie Stanley Ex-officio Members: Doug Schneider, Linda Ingalls, Tuan Tran, Carlos Melendez, and Mark Moss.

Meeting Dates (include members present).

September 20, 2023: Unit Code Screening Committee Organizational Meeting 09-20-2023

Regular Member Attendees: Amy Carr-Richardson, Scott Dellana, Jonathan Dembo, Ken Ferguson, Gina Firnhaber, Annette Greer, Fan-chin Kung, Julie Stanley

Ex-Officio Attendees: Ed Gomez, Linda Ingalls, Mark Moss, Doug Schneider, Tuan Tran

Other Attendees: Anne Ticknor (Chair of the Faculty), Rachel Baker

October 26, 2023: **Regular Member Attendees**: Amy Carr-Richardson, Scott Dellana, Jonathan Dembo, Ken Ferguson, Gina Firnhaber, Annette Greer, Fan-chin Kung, **Ex-Officio Attendees**: Ed Gomez, Linda Ingalls, Mark Moss, Doug Schneider, Tuan Tran **Other Attendees**: Susan Pearce (Sociology)

November 15, 2023: **Regular Member Attendees:** Amy Carr-Richardson, Scott Dellana, Jonathan Dembo, Ken Ferguson, Gina Firnhaber, Annette Greer, Fan-chin Kung, Julie Stanley **Ex-Officio Attendees:** Ed Gomez, Linda Ingalls, Mark Moss, Doug Schneider **Other Attendees:** None

- January 17, 2024: **Regular Member Attendees:** Ken Ferguson (Chair), Amy Carr-Richardson, Annette Greer (Vice Chair), Scott Dellana, Gina Firnhaber, Jonathan Dembo (Secretary), Fanchin Kung **Ex-Officio Attendees**: Ed Gomez, Linda Ingalls, Mark Moss, Doug Schneider, Robert Quinn (SOAD), Tuan Tran **Other Attendees**: None
- February 21, 2024: **Regular Member Attendees**: Ken Ferguson (Chair), Amy Carr-Richardson, Scott Dellana, Gina Firnhaber, Jonathan Dembo (Secretary), Fan-chin Kung **Ex-Officio Attendees**: Linda Ingalls, Doug Schneider **Other Attendees**: Linda Bolin (CON), Shannon Powell (CON) Absent: Annette Greer (Vice Chair)
- March 20, 2024: **Regular Member Attendees:** Ken Ferguson (Chair), Amy Carr-Richardson, Scott Dellana, Gina Firnhaber, Jonathan Dembo (Secretary), Fan-chin Kung, Annette Greer, Edwin Gomez, **Ex-Officio Attendees**: Linda Ingalls, Doug Schneider **Other Attendees**: Heidi Stone Bonner (CJ & C)

Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work). No subcommittees established during 2023-2024.

Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency other than the Faculty Senate.

Screened and requested revisions Unit Codes

- Department of Sociology
- School of Art and Design (SOAD)

Screened and approved Unit Codes (with Guidelines for Tenure and Promotion) for the following code units:

- Department of Sociology
- School of Communication (Prior Review & Approval)
- College of Nursing
- Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology

Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers).

- January 30, 2024 Postponed SOAD to a future Faculty Senate Agenda
- February 25, 2024 SOAD postponed a second time and returned to committee.
- March 26, 2024, Faculty Senate Resolution #24-28, Revised and Amended School of Art and Design Unit Code of Operations and Departmental Promotion, Tenure, and Advancement Guidelines. RESOLUTION #24-29 Revised Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology Unit Code of Operations and Departmental Promotion, Tenure, and Advancement Guidelines were approved as presented.
- April 22, 2024 Resolution #24-42, Approved Revised Department of Sociology code. Human Development and Family Science returned to Committee for Revisions
- August 8, 2024 Chair filed the final corrected end-of-year report for the committee.

Business carried over to next year (list in priority order).

Code for the Human Development and Family Science returned for editorial questions by Faculty Senate.

Codes placed in provisional status due to the reorganization to move units from Health Sciences division to Academic Affairs, were not submitted to this committee as projected by faculty senate chair, Anne Ticknor. It is noted that their deadline to submit a regular code revision was scheduled for 2024-2025 Academic Year.

Continue to screen Unit Codes, when submitted.

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the year).

- A. Charge: The committee reviews Unit Codes for compliance with regulations that apply to code units in the University, votes whether to approve Unit Code revisions, and presents Unit Codes approved by the committee to the Faculty Senate for their vote. The committee presents recommendations for Unit Code Format and provides Guidelines for Unit Codes.
- B. Personnel: Committee members, both "regular" and "ex-officio," were present and participated in committee meetings. Members completed preparation for the meetings in advance of

- meetings with an assigned unit code. There was a quorum of "regular" members present at each meeting for business to be conducted.
- C. Attendance: There was a high level of involvement among all members of the group. All meetings were conducted via Teams.
- D. Responsibilities: All responsibilities were fulfilled.
- E. Activities: The group reviewed 4 separate codes for units in the university; all but one were approved by the Faculty Senate (see above for resolution numbers). One was returned to committee.

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee. No suggestions

Does the Committee's organizational meeting next year need to be earlier than the date set this year? If yes, when do you prefer: No.

Signed:

Chairperson: 8/9/2024 | 5:37 PM EDT

Vice Chair: 8/9/2024 | 8:59 PM EDT

lunette Greer -F389D5CCD7F1456...

Yonathan Dembo

Secretary: 8/12/2024 | 10:29 AM EDT

Please forward the completed, approved annual report to the Faculty Senate office via email (<u>facultysenate@ecu.edu</u>) no later than_.